Doggy DNA?

Happy Monday!

I don’t know about you but it was difficult getting up this morning due to Daylight Savings Time. On the plus side, it will be lighter out longer!

So, it has been awhile since we’ve been apartment hunting and there is something that I didn’t notice as much before. The “Pet Policy” apartments and condos have. We went to one complex and they literally swab a dogs mouth “doggy DNA” as they call it, when you first move in. That way, if you don’t pick up after your pet, they will test the poop and be able to match it to the doggy DNA swab and fine you. What!? Maybe this is commonplace now but my goodness! There are also a lot of pet breed restrictions I have noticed as well. For instance:

“The following is a non-comprehensive list of dogs that are not permitted:
Akita, Rottweiler, Doberman Pinscher, German Shepherd, Pit Bull including American Staffordshire Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier and Bull Terrier, Chow…” The list goes on. Has it always been like this? I realize I can always find a place that doesn’t have these restrictions but I was shocked by some of these “Pet Policies.”

8 thoughts on “Doggy DNA?

  1. You’d be surprised how “out of hand” Pet Policies have become…. Even as a home owner our home owners insurance will not cover us if we have any of the above mentioned breeds in our possession. Needless to say we have little terriers (under 15lbs) & our home owners insurance went up about $20 lol This is completely ridiculous.

  2. Happy Monday to you! Wishing you all the best in your apartment hunting. I don’t think it has always been like that. It has been a long time since I rented or leased but when I did it was just “pets” allowed or not allowed.

  3. I went with mommy to visit her boyfriend at his condo and we were yelled at by this nasty lady who said she was reporting me to the condo association because I used the wrong elevator AND I was over 30 pounds. Crazy is as crazy does.

Leave a Reply

