Dogs- All Over the World

TGIF!

I have to share this travel story about this dog ( and owner) I encountered in Vienna, Austria circa 2010. I hope I’m able to convey the story through text because when it happened, I was laughing for hours. Maybe it was her accent or maybe I have an odd sense of humor. Either way, I hope you enjoy 🙂

We decided to take a tour of the Habsburg (Hofburg) Winter Palace. This was the main winter residence that housed the Habsburg dynasty- one of the most important royal houses in Europe.

 

Exterior Habsburg Winter Residence

Exterior Habsburg Winter Residence

Interior Habsburg Winter Residence

Interior Habsburg Winter Residence

 

As we were walking to the tour entrance, I saw his polished looking older woman walking her dog, which looked like a Yorkie. Of course I was fixated on the adorable dog and snuck a photo. She was silent and so proper the entire time until the dog wouldn’t stop sniffing this one specific corner. Frustrated, she yelled out multiple times in her Austrian accent “PEA-NOOT COME ccHHHHERRRE!” I don’t know what had me laughing harder… that the dog’s name was Peanut or the scolding she administered in her awesome accent. It had me so tickled that when my parents were lagging behind on the guided tours, I would repeat what she said in the same accent. They must have loooved it 🙂 Anyhoo, here is the photo below!

Peanut and his owner in Austria

Peanut and his owner in Austria

Leave a Reply

